Skip to content

Staff Spotlight: Warren Topping

Q: How long have you been with Holladay Construction Group? When did you start?

Warren: I have been with Holladay Construction Group 10 years. I started in May of 2008.

Q: What titles have you held throughout your time at Holladay Construction Group and when did you have those titles?

Warren: I have been classified as a Project Superintendent the entire time but have done duties of the Project Manager on numerous jobs and still do  currently.

Q: What is your background in the construction industry?

Warren: I started with my Uncle when I was 12 yrs. old, he was a custom home builder also built churches. I had my own framing company for about 5 years framing homes and condo projects in the private sector. I worked as a Production Manager and Supervisor in a Modular Building Factory (Cardinal Industries) out of Columbus, OH for 7 years in both Ohio and Maryland. I had close to 200 employees in the production Dept.  We built apartments and motels (Knight Inns) in numerous states including Indiana. I also was a General Field Superintendent for them, with 1-3 superintendents under my direction. I graduated High School in Columbus, OH and have attended numerous construction management and management courses thru the years. I also have Retail Management experience in the supermarket industry. I have worked for several General Contractors out of Columbus, OH and Virginia, and I have traveled around the country doing interior retail build outs and complete motel and apartment  projects with Cardinal Industries ranging from $200,000 to $15 million total budgets. I have traveled to Arizona, Virginia, Wisconsin, North Carolina,  Alabama, Indiana and Tennessee for Holladay Construction, building Graybar Electric buildings and supervising infrastructure work for larger projects.

Q: What is the best thing about your job?

Warren: I enjoy the challenge that each job brings and the travel to different parts of the country, I enjoy developing relationships with the subcontractors that I get to work with in each location. I have been able to maintain some relationships even after finishing the jobs.

Q: What is the worst thing about your job?

Warren: After 58+ years in this business, if there was a worst thing, I would not still be doing it.

Q: Family life details: (i.e. are you married, do you have children and/or pets, etc.)

Warren: I am divorced, I have 4 grown children… 3 daughters and a son, 6 Grand Children and 1 Great Grand Son. Our dogs are with my Ex but they are 3 little guys, a Yorkie, Maltipoo and a Shitzu. My first wife and I were foster parents and we had close to 40 kids pass through our home while doing it. Our son, who we adopted, was one of our foster children.

Q: How do you spend your free time, away from work?

Warren: Being out of town with my assignments, I usually find as much local stuff to visit as I can. I like to travel around and see the area surrounding the city I may be in. I enjoy visiting local baseball stadiums and have found some really unique locations around the country. I will also visit local race tracks during the season. I tend to watch a lot of movies and love History, Discovery and Food Network on TV.

Q: Are you involved in any community groups? (Give details)

Warren: My travels don’t allow that.

Q: Tell me something interesting about you; for example, have you ever been on TV, been an extra in a movie, etc.?

Warren: Can’t say I have had any of those experiences. I have played on a softball team with Bruce Hornsby when I lived in Williamsburg, VA. and visited his studio there while he was working on a new album. 

Share This Article